Sep. 1st, 2009

jeanniemac: (Default)
As our move is getting closer, its time to start being serious on the other end. Here is what I know for sure:

-We will be living with my mother. For those of you who don't remember or never knew, she lives in Bethesda, between River Rd and Massachusetts Ave. We will be staying with her for at least 6 months, but it may be longer depending on my job prospects.

-I am currently looking for work as a library clerk/assistant. I do not have an MLS but I do have enough on the job experience, including running as small office library, to fill an entry level librarian position if they aren't picky about extra education. I am interested in getting into cataloging and catalog maintenance. I either need set part time hours or full time hours, making between $16 and $20 an hour, for us to be able to afford child care. I will be totally dependent on public transit once I start working since we will not be able to afford a second car and my mother's car is ready for the junk heap. So my work area is somewhat limited without a car. It can be worked around (ie having Brent drop me off and pick me up) but I'd rather be more independent. I would prefer DC or the MD suburbs but close in NoVa is fine too. If anyone hears of a position popping up I'd appreciate it if you'd let me know. I am currently expecting to be available to work as of 10/19.

-We need to be settled at Mom's with an active internet connection by 10/7. There is a project that Brent will need to take over as lead on and that's the transition date. As a result, we will most likely be arriving at Mom's on or about 10/1, depending on when we can get the movers and how long we visit in Houston with Brent's family along the way.

-We will be putting at least some of our stuff in storage.

Here is what I need, in the way of help:

-Recommendations for a good pediatrician for Ian and a high-risk OBGYN for myself. Both will need to be located in North West DC or the close in MD suburbs.

-Strong arms and backs to help re-arrange furniture. We will need to play musical bedrooms once we arrive at Mom's so that everyone (including Bethy, for her weekend visits) has their own bedroom (with Brent and I sharing of course). We will also need help setting up the office space in the family room and moving stuff that doesn't fit into storage. I'm guessing that we will need help with this the first full weekend of October, but if we are later than I think, it might turn out to be the second weekend instead.

-Not so strong arms and good eyes to help with Ian during the great furniture shift. Mom will be there but I would love it if she had some help herding Wee Boy (and any other smalls whose parents wish to join in the fray). Brent and I will both be needed to direct, lift and haul.

-Willing victims for a board game play group, to meet at least every other week (once a week would be best but I know that everyone has crazy schedules) that will involve occasional play test of games in development. Brent will need folks to try prototypes out on and it would be great to have a play group of about 6 people to really run paces. The play test would be open to anyone within the group who has a prototype to offer up.

-An RPG of some kind that meets weekly and has an open place for 2 reasonably experienced players. Brent doesn't mind GMing if we can find folks interested in playing but we would need at least 5 players total to make any of his campaigns work.

-Recommendations on a medium to large-sized, fairly liberal Presbyterian church (PCUSA only) for Brent, which has an ethnically diverse congregation and uses a traditional service formant and traditional music. An active adult hand bell choir is a plus.

-Recommendations on a Knit Night, Pagan Circle and/or Reading Group for me. Brent and I have made a deal that we each get a night to ourselves once we are settled. His will be for street skating downtown, but I'm still looking for mine.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to provide. We are really looking forward to being settled and having a more normal life.

Profile

jeanniemac: (Default)
jeanniemac

August 2010

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516171819 2021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 19th, 2017 05:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios